RichmondCC Library: Public Speaking: Presentation topics

Library Resources for Presentation Topics

Biographical
Country Profile

The following databases are available both on and off campus; off campus users will be prompted for a username and password - these are your moodle/email log-ins.

Credo Reference
Credo is a collection of encyclopedia and dictionary resources. It is a great starting point for information about an individual.

Great Lives from History: African-Americans
Covers more than 770 people from colonial times through the present, offering fascinating perspectives on black American history.
Gale in Context: Biography
Offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, and multimedia on the world's most influential people.

The following websites might be useful to you in the information gathering phase.

Biography.com
Self explanatory...
Congressional Biographical Dictionary
From 1744 to the present.
Women's Biographies
This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways. There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others.

The following databases are available both on and off campus; off campus users will be prompted for a username and password - these are your moodle/email log-ins.

Credo Reference
Encyclopedia articles on a variety of topics; simply type in the country in which you are interested.

The following websites may be useful in your search for information.

BBC - Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Includes audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Country Reports
Entirely online, we offer more than 35,000 pages of content on the countries of the world. Our cultural, historical and statistical information has proven to be valuable to students, parents, teachers, and researchers alike.