Skip to Main Content

Nursing - Evidence-Based Practice

Books of Interest

eBook Collections

Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction.  "Evidence-based practice nursing" will pull up many titles of interest. 

Databases of Interest

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

To search for information that meet evidence-based practice standards, scroll down the search page - under search options, right column - will be a box for Evidence-Based Practice.  Scrolling down a little further to "Publication type" allows you to select for books, book chapters, or articles.  Under "Special Interest", you can also select evidence-based practice.

Nursing & Allied Health

To locate articles which meet EPB standards, select "advanced search" from the landing page. Type in your topic in the search box. Midway down the page is a box labeled "MeSH subject"; type in evidence-based medicine.  Then hit enter. 

Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository

The only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses. It is an open-access digital academic and clinical scholarship service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research and evidence-based practice materials. 

Other Sources for Studies and Clinical Trials

PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. 

The leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. This is a subscription database, however many of the articles are available for free.  Selecting a study also brings up a list of PICO tags, improving your research capabilities. In addition, the abstracts and summaries of articles behind the paywall may provide sufficient information for your needs.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

MedlinePlus is intended to provide basic informtion for patients and families but it can also be used to search for clinical trials and other research.